Traffic violations in California can get confusing and can also be incredibly expensive. There are 2 types of violations- what’s referred to as an infraction and what’s referred to as a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is a bit more serious of a violation. A traffic ticket and fine could be issued to you for a few reasons including:
- Expired parking meters
- Failing to use a turn signal
- Unauthorized parking in a handicap zone
Misdemeanors may include:
- Reckless driving
- Drunk driving
- Driving without a license
- Drag racing
Violations also can be classified as moving or non-moving. A moving violation would include:
- Driving below minimum speed
- Running a stop sign or red light
- Failure to wear a seat belt
Non-moving violations would include those where the vehicle is parked illegally or is not properly registered. Most traffic violations in California fall into this category. These traffic violations can require paying fines up to $370.
If your violation is a moving violation, there’s a good chance you’ll have to go to traffic school to avoid getting points against your license. In the state of California you’re required to go to traffic school if you have incurred a moving violation and have not attended traffic school in the past 18 months.
MM Traffic school in San Diego can help you to deal with your moving violations and obligations to the California DMV. We strive to help you become a safer driver for yourself and the other drivers on the road with you. Don’t hesitate to check out our California traffic school options to help fulfill your legal requirements.